My Grandpa

My grandpa is one of my biggest cooking inspirations and has been since I was a little girl. One of my earliest memories is baking and decorating Christmas cookies with him and my sister, Jordan on Christmas Eve. I cherish that memory dearly and we have continued that tradition to this day.

IMG_0834

This first thing you should know about my grandpa is that he loves his grandchildren and great grandchildren fiercely. When my sister and I were little it’s safe to say we were his world. Both he and my grandmother would spoil us so much and spend countless days with us. We loved having them around all the time and loved going on McDonald’s and “Duck Park” trip with them. Now that we’re grown, I get to see him spoil and love on my cousin’s four children as well. The two youngest boys love their ‘Papa’ and he loves them just as much.  Grandpa poured so much love on Jordan and myself and it’s so heartwarming seeing him pour that some love one his young great grandchildren as well.

In addition to being a FANTASTIC grandfather, my grandpa is also a wonderful chef. He learned a lot of cooking from my Great Mama as well as learning from experience and finding new flavors from his travels during his Air Force days. He has worked in the food industry for many many years. He worked so much in the kitchen that I have a distinct scent memory associated with him.

My grandpa has the biggest heart, loves his family more than anything, and is probably the best chef I know. He loves cooking for his loved ones and loves playing with his grand babies even more. He has taught me so many things in the kitchen and I cannot wait to learn even more.

IMG_0835

Because grandpa makes so many wonderful dishes that it was so difficult to choose one to share with y’all. But I finally decided on the one he makes a lot; his Bacon Green Onion spread. He makes this for nearly all of our family gatherings and it is gone in a blink.

For this recipe you will need:

  • 1 cup of bacon bits (cooked to preferred crispiness)
  • 8 oz. cream cheese
  • 8 oz. feta cheese
  • 3 oz green onions
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic

Blend all ingredients in a mixer. Serve with crackers or bread rounds and enjoy.

If you make this for your next party I can almost guarantee it will be a hit.

I actually don’t even have a picture of this dip because I made it for a get together with friends and they all devoured it before I could snap a pic. But trust me it is delicious and looks so appetizing once put together, try it for yourself!

Let’s dig in!

Leave a Reply

