Grandma Eva

Oh how I have heard SO many wonderful stories about my great Grandma Eva. She is my dad’s grandma and based on the picture to the left, my grandmother is a spitting image of her.

Eva Taylor was what I imagine the epitome of a “mother”. She had a house full of children whom she cooked for every single day. She loved baking just as much as she did cooking; she was famous for her chocolate cake and apple stack cake. Not only did she enjoy cooking but she also loved teaching her daughters how to cook. My grandmother and my great aunt both learned most of their cooking skills from her.

In addition for cooking, Grandma Eva also enjoyed canning. She would can fruits and vegetables from the garden and keep them all winter long.

Grandma Eva was motherly and resourceful. I sure do wish I had met her. But I can ‘t wait to try her recipes; cakes are one of my favorite things to make and it seems like they were hers too.

The recipe I’m doing for Grandma Eva is her famous chocolate cake with “topping”.

img_0696

For the cake, you will need:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 Tbs. cocoa powder
  • 1 stick of margarine
  • 1/2 cup oil (I used vegetable)
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Start by sifting flour, sugar and salt together in a medium sized bowl, set aside.

Mix on the stove the water, cocoa, margarine and oil. Bring to a boil. Then pour over the dry ingredients. Add to the mixture the buttermilk, eggs, baking soda, and vanilla.

Pour batter into a cake pan and bake for 30 mins at 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

For the topping you will need:

  • 1 stick of margarine
  • 3 Tbs. cocoa powder
  • 6 Tbs. milk
  • 1 box of confection sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Boil margarine, cocoa, and milk over low heat. Once boiling, pour over the entire box of confection sugar, add vanilla. Spread over warm cake and enjoy!

img_0703
Let’s dig in!

Leave a Reply

